“State of the Art On-Line Functionality”… Google-proof.

Sorry, I had to use that title, it’s from a stupid advert … basically it means “this works”…. and I was thinking about this blog. Having moved from Google and had spyders and bots crawling through my every nook and cranny, well, my blog’s, that is, rather than my person… I have noticed that most of my regular readers have made the jump with many a kind word for this new format.

I followed it up by installing Firefox with DuckDuck Go as my default browser and using NewsBlur as my blog reader. As all my photos are on Flickr and I use Mac (‘Mobile Me’) for my mail I really don’t care what Google decides as far as Nyms go, I am Google-proof.

..and as the Nymwars smoulder on with Google claiming it will do what it can in the next few weeks to allow nyms, I think “….whatever”.
I actually made my first ever Wikipedia entry re. Nymwars and would encourage anyone else who feels the impulse to do likewise….

But the big news this week is Mesh and a number of things are becoming clearer now that we can see it working, well, I actually can’t see mesh because, although I downloaded Viewer 3, and made an attempt to customise it, I was so irritated I gave up ….that’s not gonna help, so I’ll have to get over myself and get a grip, or wait for Firestorm/Phoenix or Kirstens Viewer….. anyway… inspired by Claudia222 Jewell‘s amazing stuff captured by ColeMarie … here... There is a great photo on the SL website too but I couldn’t re-find it using their search try as I might… duh!

Anyway….I spoke to Claudia who told me it was an enormous task to learn and then to figure out how to do it and, so, I then searched for some tutorials…. there are two extreme opposites…one easy but very limited via Sketch-up, which it seems is supported although a Linden said it wouldn’t be…. here. It seems that mesh is scalable to 64 meters though as you scale it the PE (older post) will increase… the cost as I predicted in that post will be sky high unless….

The unless part involves doing it properly. Doing it properly involves making 3 or 4 versions of the same model with different LOD (level of detail) and uploading them all. For those really interested I would highly recommend watching these tutorials…. here…. In them Gaia Clary does exactly that, makes 4 versions of a kettle in order to lower the PE and to stop the thing looking like a piece of crap when viewed from a distance.

Now, obviously you would have to be “madder than Mick McMad” to do so much work for a simple object but, when people post on forums that their boat weighed in at 915 prims…well…you know you have to take this stuff seriously.

Which begs the $64,000 Question…. why?

From where I’m looking I would have to have extremely good reasons to go through all that trouble.

Seeing Claudia’s stuff I can understand why someone would, but…. as I said in a previous post…It takes time, lots of time, lots of prims, lots of patience … I can’t imagine this stuff is going to be cheap. [“it’s little wonder than no tree on TurboSquid costs less than 7800 L$, the top one mentioned above being ca. 80,000L$”] ….I would imagine this stuff is gonna be expensive.

It may be worth it.

Eventually it will be a real asset, I’m just not sure how long Eventually is….

:))

3 Comments

Filed under Claudia222 Jewell, Google+, Mesh in SL., nyms, stuff

3 responses to ““State of the Art On-Line Functionality”… Google-proof.

  1. I’m not sure a Linden said SketchUp is not supported (or if they did, I missed it), but Runitai Linden *did* say at SLCC that it is not a good idea to use it, and implied that LL won’t be checking it for suitability of use with SL going forward. Here’s what he said, edited to omit the asides about digital artists, etc:

    “We have a list of applications we test against. Blender … we wanna make sure we’re compatible with Wings3D … and 3D Studio and Maya because they’re the big players from Autodesk. … and Zebra.

    “You’ll notice that I didn’t say SketchUp, and that’s intentional. SketchUp’s exporter creates content that just isn’t very efficient for the Second Life importer. You end up with a lot of very, very small meshes, and there’s a lot of overhead in Second Life for each individual mesh object.”

    To me that reads, “You can use it, but we’d rather you didn’t, and don’t blame us if it goes a little sideways…”

  2. Ah, OK, well good that you cleared that up. Thx.

  3. trying a new comment spam filter

Leave a Reply

