Just….stuff..

The worlds I live in are all quite interesting at the moment and there’s a few things going on that don’t really warrant separate posts so I thought I’d mash em up together….

In the real world, so called, the financial system is gonna get bad if my experiences in Greece are anything to go by. People tend to dislike generalisations based on a limited experience of another culture, and I can understand why. However, a small sample of the public, when tested or surveyed, fills our newstream with ‘surveys’ which, because they are pushed by some pseudo-scientific group are given credence. My experience of my 5 months living in Greece and the people, some of them long term colonials, some native, has left me with two particular impressions which, when considering their debt crisis, do not bode well for the financial systems of Europe and the USA.

I personally, and this may be unrepresentative, never met as many bullshitters in 5 months as I did when I was in Greece, and I have traveled widely. I have never been in a country where tax avoidance is such a national pass-time/sport/culture as it is/was in Greece (I was there in this century so it’s fairly recent). Now, before any Greek people come after me with a big stick, I also have to say that I met some of the most charming and generous people during my stay.

So, some seem to think that because Greece is such a small economy compared to the USA nothing bad can result from this default. However, take into consideration the leverage of all banks, world-wide, and the domino effect…well…it may end up that the #OccupyWallStreet activists actually do end up living there as no-one else will… :))

The UK is just printing more money … Duh!! like that is gonna help. Print enough and I can use it as wall paper while I starve.

Currently I am richer than most of the banks….I have no loan and no toxic assets apart from some old sneakers.

On an equally serious note, if less Cassandra-like, this piece of information may be of interest to those who think that total lack of privacy has no effect on them. It’s about the face-recognition capabilities of drones and, by implication, their missiles. This current administration has the same view as the Israelis, namely, that it is perfectly OK to eliminate a suspect in a new guilty-til-proven-innocent move, the problem being, of course, that the suspect is dead long before he can mount any defense. (see Noam Chomsky’s interview.)

Happily the whole Nymwars discussion has broadened and there are now numerous good posts and articles all nicely collected here by Botgirl. Botgirl has also posted some excellent and concise posts recently on the subject… check out her blog.

Outstanding blogging also from Miso as she continues to track, comment, and document the OccupyEverywhere movement…

So…stepping over the UI threshold into a [more?] virtual world…. some light relief….

SaveMe and Rose are to marry. Now, that’s a sentence I never thought I’d type. SaveMe has recently won a UWA award…as documented here….

[06:50] Jayjay Zifanwe: ok now now!
[06:51] SaveMe Oh: tp, and when its a lie you will regret it deeply
[06:52] Jayjay Zifanwe: what lie
[06:52] Jayjay Zifanwe: i mean you can tp in now
[06:52] SaveMe Oh: Is my name coming up for a price? or is the event over?
[07:03] Jayjay Zifanwe: all celebrating
[07:04] SaveMe Oh: And I won nothing??? Why should I celebrate??? I am a zero, a nobody.
[07:05] Jayjay Zifanwe: you didnt enter
[07:05] Jayjay Zifanwe: for september
[07:05] Jayjay Zifanwe: dont worry
[07:05] Jayjay Zifanwe: yours is entry for october
[07:05] Jayjay Zifanwe: like i told you
[07:05] SaveMe Oh: but you could give me a price anyway
[07:05] SaveMe Oh: for not entering in september
[07:05] SaveMe Oh: anything
[07:05] Jayjay Zifanwe: ok
[07:05] Jayjay Zifanwe: you win the ‘I am nobody’ Prize
[07:06] Jayjay Zifanwe: that carries an amazing L$0 prize
[07:06] SaveMe Oh: for the best non entry of september
[07:06] Jayjay Zifanwe: yes the I am nobody prize goes each month to the best non entrant
[07:06] Jayjay Zifanwe: who elevated the artwork by not submitting anything they created
[07:06] SaveMe Oh: Best non entry of september: SaveMe Oh.
[07:06] SaveMe Oh: that I would like.
[07:09] Jayjay Zifanwe: yes great
[07:09] Jayjay Zifanwe: make sure you tell people
[07:09] SaveMe Oh: no you tell them
[07:09] SaveMe Oh: I wont
[07:09] SaveMe Oh: I wont expose myself
[07:10] SaveMe Oh: I am a modest girl
[07:10] Jayjay Zifanwe: well i can confirm you won it
[07:10] Jayjay Zifanwe: i’ll do that
[07:10] SaveMe Oh: add it to the notecard and your blog
[07:10] Jayjay Zifanwe: the beauty of the prize
[07:11] SaveMe Oh: is that its secret
[07:11] Jayjay Zifanwe: is that is doesnt go on the blog. see its the ‘I Am Nobody Prize’
[07:11] Jayjay Zifanwe: yes its a secret
[07:11] Jayjay Zifanwe: actually
[07:11] SaveMe Oh: I know your coward answers
[07:11] Jayjay Zifanwe: please dont tell anyone
[07:11] Jayjay Zifanwe: promise?
[07:11] SaveMe Oh: thats why everybody loves you so much
[07:12] SaveMe Oh: didnt the dalai lama already asked you to be his succesor?
[07:15] Jayjay Zifanwe: nah he asked me if i wanted a LLama
[07:15] Jayjay Zifanwe: not if i wanted to be the dalai lama
[07:15] Jayjay Zifanwe: LLama farms are big in australia
[07:15] SaveMe Oh: you would be great with lama farms too
[07:16] SaveMe Oh: with everything actually
[10:20] Jayjay Zifanwe: (Saved Sun Oct 02 15:16:50 2011)dalai lama
[07:15] Jayjay Zifanwe: LLama farms are big in australia
[07:15] SaveMe Oh: you would be great with lama farms too
[07:16] SaveMe Oh: with everything actually

A well-deserved winner has now won a bride and I’ve been asked to do the bouquets… :))

[just hope it lasts longer than the last wedding I went to where I was a little late for the ceremony and only caught the divorce which followed immediately after]

Anyway…on the subject of Art…(“we were?” you ask) The LEA has 4 sims of it’s new 20 which are now available and allocated to the best artists in SL (apart from the FOC) for a new initiative. Now, I know a few people have their noses put out of joint because I criticised the Lab for their weak, slow and inadequate Endowment in spite of me making it perfectly clear that the criticism was directed at the Lab rather than at the Lab Rats.

Now, however, we actually have some sort of initiative starting up and it will be very interesting to see how it all develops. Full details on Bryn’s blog, here. Anything with Selavy Oh involved is a big draw for me, though I could live the rest of my life without hearing the word Hyperformalism and survive/thrive. Pretentious theories drive me nuts…. (like that one of Georg’s…no…don’t get me started.. rant free zone today).

….and lastly there are rumours that the Lab has discovered that Viewer 3 has a really crappy UI… hmm…not bad… only 2 years late….

Anyway … sad news about Steve Jobs, a great man by any measure, but, good news about SaveMe… it’s a funny old world.

:))

15 Comments

Filed under All the latest news., Botgirl Questi, Bryn Oh, LEA, nyms, Politics, SaveMe Oh., SL Arts endowment.

15 responses to “Just….stuff..

  1. I’ve been feeling the pull to mash things up recently too. After three years or so of focusing mostly on identity in virtual worlds, first the Nymwars issue and now the Occupy Wall Street movement are expanding the story for me into one of “people versus the corporate machine”.

    I think the quote a friend of my mine posted from Seth Godin today captures the common thread: “The reason they want you to fit in is that once you do they can ignore you!”

    Although I’d add, ” . . . and profit from you”.

  2. Yes, I totally agree. It’s like finding a voice too…. as I’ve said before, a sort of maturing of a virtual identity.

  3. I will have to congratulate Save Me; a well-deserved win! And to Rose, a prize much-sought after; “May you live with interesting people” :D

    Most of the reason I am following the progress of the OccupyEverywhere movement is that it gives me a hope I haven’t felt since 1999 or so. The other main reason is that my studies on the laws and regulations that are seeking to limit or cripple Internet functionality and use are directly related to HOW OccupyEverywhere is happening. For years, “crazies” tried to tell people how “news” was marginalizing and betraying them with false facts and figures; hiding information under the guise of “informing” and being the advertising arm for corporate will.

    The internet is our last hope for a truly-open and democratic means of communication, and the kids R doin it Rite.

  4. jayjay zifanwe

    i did promise saveme I would confirm it… so… ummm… here is the confirmation

  5. I am living on a pink cloud, winning my first UWA award for the best non entry in september, then the totaly unexpected wedding proposal of my sweet Rose, the warm and encouraging reactions of my friends and then the official confirmation of Jayjay that he will be the one who will marry us in november (with in our hands the wedding bouquets Soror will make for us). Who am I to deserve this happyness?
    Only one question? Who the hell is Steve Jobs??? Not one of those capitalists I hope who forced Miso to sleep on the streets in Wall street.

  6. @ miso…thanks I’ve added a note to the post to that effect.

  7. jayjay

    ummm what is this I am supposed to have agreed to do?

    all i was confirming was that you won the award

  8. i still think saveme and jayjay should get hitched. they’re so cute together.

  9. @SaveMe .. yes, I am. Great link thanks.:))
    From one Neohyperformalimmersionalist to another.

  10. @SaveMe.. don´t you dare geting married the 5th of november (my keyboard driver is busy then) or the 13th (then I´m busy!)

    • @Ampel
      You work, you play
      and then, one day…
      love just happens!
      Rose Borchovski
      and
      SaveMe Oh
      invite you to be a witness to one of secondlife’s loveliest
      surprises as they are joined together in matrimony

      Dear Ampel, we would be honoured if all the celebrations around our weddingday would be officially blogged by you as no-one else has a glossy bloggy like you. Please let us know if we can count on you for this happy day.

      And ofcourse we will not marry on 5 or 13 november as we are busy then too, wink, wink.

      Love, Rose and SaveMe

Leave a Reply

