Call for exporting artists…

Scottius and I were talking about RL galleries the other day and how they have this Catch 22 attitude that they won’t show anyone who isn’t ‘Known’, but you need to show in order to become ‘Known’… duh!!

So…as I imagine I will be in the same situation as him next year when I hopefully have a tree or two to show, I began to wonder if there was a need for artists exporting work from SL/VR to RL to start to think about doing some sort of joint show or, alternatively, try and get an interested gallery to show this type of work.

I have spoken to JayJay about this as he has a few contacts but, of course, I wondered how many artists actually do this ‘exporting’?

There are, of course, machinimists who don’t have so much trouble with showing stuff as it is fairly easy to show on YouTube or at a festival, but I was thinking more of real physical objects…

So…who do you know who makes ‘real’ stuff inspired by Virtual Worlds… can you help me get a list together??

:))

11 Comments

Filed under stuff

11 responses to “Call for exporting artists…

  1. I make various RL thingies based on inspirations from SL. I have a studio full of mobiles dancing around that were inspired in SL.

  2. As you know (we’ve talked), much of my SL/IW work is a sketchpad for RL work. I spend as much time thinking about how to “bring it over” as I do making it in inworld.

    I’m experimenting with techniques now to bring Lady With A Fan over; we spoke about bringing Big Winter out (need stonemasons!). I am also in correspondence with several industrial materials-makers about how to realize Radiant Stallions in a bay or river.

    There used to be a way to do this; called “Schools” like Fluxus, Dada, Bahaus… I’d suggest a need for a journaling/Statement type approach; more unification and agreement on broad significance/theoretical underpinnings (shades of Hyperformalism!) and the traditional techniques used before to launch a new esthetic…

  3. Excellent… so the list starts….

    I like the idea of a “school” Miso…in one way…namely…good for marketing.

  4. Juanita Deharo

    I’ve seen vw’s as an integral part of my art practice since I started making virtual art in 2006. You’re right, these projects are a bit ‘under the radar’ in SL, but out there in real life land I’ve had a lot of reward and recognition for what I’m doing with vw tools.
    You and Scotti have been involved in some of those rl/sl crossovers, as have quite a few other artists. Way back in the dim past Asmita and I published a book using my sl builds as illustration for a children’s story, and I’ve done a few projects that have built on that in various ways.
    Great ideas- and much as I hate ‘genres’ that often becomes a clique that excludes others, I think maybe you’re right about the need for some naming, if only so you own the idea….but what sort of net would catch the multitude of ways artists move across those boundaries?

  5. Juanita Deharo

    As a PS to my above comment, as an ex-owner of a rl gallery and a rl curator – I think if you present things the right way rl galleries will be very interested in showing your work. Soror, you have much to put on a CV – a strong exhibiting background, an an obvious commitment to professionalism – these are the things that count.

    • That’s very true, Juanita. You have more experience in this realm than most and it may be one of those cases of me barking up the wrong tree but you were 100% right in pointing out that I should be thinking about these things well in advance.

  6. We all hate “labels” and cliques… on the other hand, being part of a Futurist, Surrealist, Cubist or other “school” or stream or art movement – whatever you want to call it – gives some benefits: opportunities for dialogue about approaches and philosophies & a claiming of legitimacy in the light of other artistic movements by observing the traditional forms.

    Maybe we’re at the stage that others came to; we’ve been doing and working in this new form for awhile now; we can start thinking about the underpinnings, relation to past streams of artistic expression and the relation between our myriad approaches and uses of this medium. If William DeKooning, Jay Meuser, Mark Rothko & Jackson Pollock are all spoken of as ‘Abstract Impressionists’ [insert art-fight here] then there is room in our movement for a myriad of techniques and approaches (even
    perhaps machinima, although this might be edging towards animation/cinematic).

    There is already material out there scattered about; Juanita’s thoughtful blogging, the article from Arte Y Parte, Gracie Kendall’s work… particularly with the timezone problem and lacking a convenient local cafe or bookstore to hang out at, some kind of forum/site/board would be a touchstone to facilitate resources, connections and dialogue among artists working in virtual worlds.

    Le Art Électronique?
    d’art Virtuelle?
    L’art de la lumière?

    A start might be some of the points brought up in the wonderful discussion you, Wizzy and I had at the VWER special arts panel – lack of gravity, scale, light, the transitory/ephemeral nature of virtual art, the attempts to crossover from “light sketchpad” to physical being… etc.

  7. Yes, it’s an interesting stage of development when you start asking ‘who am I’ … and maybe this is a small part of an ongoing discussion which accompanies a sort of coming of age…
    A label can be an albatross but it can also be a union … it is certainly worth further consideration.

  8. Sorry, coming in a bit late to the conversation….or is that reallly early?

    I usually bring my rl creations into sl, though have done a few drawings based on my builds. However, I don’t feel much of a divide between the two worlds…it’s much like the relationship between painting and sculpture. If anything, this kind of movement brings sl/digital art back to the outside. As there appears to be a hesitancy of the outside art world to step in SL, I think this will help SL artists have a better chance of being taken seriously. One can say this shouldn’t matter, but when you actually have to live off your art, it can.

  9. I’d like to add that another SL’er, Clairwil Oh, uses photos that she takes in SL/Opensim, edits them in PS, and then prints many of them using her own homemade printing press. We both took part in a studio tour here in Austin, and she sold several of these, probably all to people who have never been to Second Life before.

  10. Yep, I’ve use images I create in SL to illustrate my books and plays. I think that the success I am having with prints of the illustrations might end up getting a print publisher interested in my work. Right now, the books are available digitally on Amazon and Wowio. But after working with the images as printed media, I am seeing more and more ways to bring the images into the physical world as lithographs, silkscreen images, other media. My preference, though, is to use vintage techniques like cyanotypes and toned platinum palladium prints. It’s terrifically satisfying to bring the images into a 2D media, though some might find that a step backwards.

Leave a Reply

