RL project snaps

Well, I thought some of you might like to be kept up to date with my ongoing sculpturing exploits … soo … some photos..

The start of my mould making activities… after smearing the highly polished and laquered prims with Vaseline (petroleum jelly) I started today on the silicone rubber which is a very messy business. So far these have three layers of rubber on them … and it has mostly gone well. I got some disposable brushes and used old sour cream pots which I’ve been collecting, so everything can just go in the bin…

Otherwise I’ve been working on the base which has a hidden tube for the wires that will supply the LED, this has still got a lot of sanding and filling to do before it gets moulded, but, as it is one of the last parts I’ll need, there’s no hurry with it.

Likewise the water lillies and the pitcher plants are not needed first off, so I’ve just started on them… the lilly flower which I intend incorporating will need some clever thinking as it’s gonna be a bit tricky both to mould and to light up with a ‘glow’ effect. That I haven’t even started on…

Onward… :))

9 Comments

Filed under stuff

9 responses to “RL project snaps

  1. Thanks for showing us your progress Soror! And yes it looks verrry messy…make sure not to slime the macpro! :)

  2. betty tureaud

    I just want to say that i love your topbanner :)

  3. Thx Betty, there are a few banners…they change each time you log on..:))

    @scotti … gulp, yes… luckily it mostly peels off when dry, unlike the dust…

  4. That is great babe. Keep it at it. I’m looking forward to seeing where you are going with it all.

  5. Juanita Deharo

    This is brilliant! Much as I miss you in vw’s I am so excited you’re doing this.

  6. Thank you, yes, it is quite exciting. I am fairly sure the final result is going to be great as I have it fairly clearly in my head. Great to be able to use VWs to actually make a mock-up of a sculpture and try out different sizes and colours; it’s a use of VWs that isn’t advertised much but really it’s a sculptor’s paradise in that respect.

  7. penelope parx

    Yayyyyy Soror! ………. I am so happy to see your work in progress!
    :) great!

  8. Writer(s): Cahn/Van Heusen

    Next time you’re found, with your chin on the ground
    There a lot to be learned, so look around

    Just what makes that little old ant
    Think he’ll move that rubber tree plant
    Anyone knows an ant, can’t
    Move a rubber tree plant

    But he’s got high hopes, he’s got high hopes
    He’s got high apple pie, in the sky hopes

    So any time you’re gettin’ low
    ‘stead of lettin’ go
    Just remember that ant
    Oops there goes another rubber tree plant

    When troubles call, and your back’s to the wall
    There a lot to be learned, that wall could fall

    Once there was a silly old ram
    Thought he’d punch a hole in a dam
    No one could make that ram, scram
    He kept buttin’ that dam

    but he’s got high hopes, he’s got high hopes
    He’s got high apple pie, in the sky hopes

    So any time you’re feelin’ bad
    ‘stead of feelin’ sad
    Just remember that ram
    Oops there goes a billion kilowatt dam

    All problems just a toy balloon
    They’ll be bursted soon
    They’re just bound to go pop

    Oops there goes another problem kerplop
    Oops, there goes another problem kerplop
    Oops, there goes another problem kerplop
    Kerplop!

  9. @aliz….thx..:)) … my third attempt at the pitcher plant went well…:))

Leave a Reply

