Quotes, pussy cats and social media fatigue

A lot has happened since my last post which seems like ages ago.

Wizzy had her rezzday earlier in the week (as did Miso) and we were talking about 2007 and 2008 when we first met at the NPIRL Garden event, we were neighbours with Glyph. Bettina also mentioned that I had previously got the plot, in a raffle, next to her at the first BL I attended. Fate working harder than any contrived plan.

2007 also came to the fore when, after a rejection from the Mall Galleries Open Show this week, I received a tax rebate from that year [if I paid my taxes that late they’d lock me up] .. a surprise windfall of almost $1000. Swings and round-a-bouts.

2007 was the last RL show I had and the year I entered SL and learned Blender. At the show it became obvious that I should have painted pussy cats (or boats; it was in Cornwall) if I wanted to sell lots of work. Somehow I knew that before I started…

After all, fashioning art from popularist subject matter in order to gain financially is like selling cars by having models press their boobs against the bodywork at car shows. I have to retain some dignity or the mirror will rebuke me…

So, 5 years later I have been very heavily immersed in the realm of social media, which, as I have pointed out before is neither social, nor is it a medium, really. The way that SM is being used as a metric to measure the popularity of a product/page/individual is false and forced.

e.g. if I want likes and comments on my Facebook or Google+ page I have only to post a picture of a fluffy young animal of almost any variety to attract ‘traffic’…. or boobs, I would think, would work well too…. and there are enough dodgy quotes to sink the Titanic….

There are also thousands of posts promoting SM as the best way of ‘connecting’ with your potential customers … I strongly doubt the veracity of this opinion (held chiefly by SM businesses).

‘Sharing’ is an americanism that tends to make me want to puke anyway.. but hasn’t it become a bit silly? If everyone had a photocopier in their front room 10 years ago and copied everything they could get their hands on to send to all their friends ….surely we would have thought …”hmm…loonie tunes” … it would have been very strange behaviour.

‘Thanks for sharing that’ … vs… ‘my god why replicate second rate data ad nauseam’  ..it just depends on your overall view, I guess.

Now.. I love Twitter and I am not entirely innocent in this [EA has lowered my standards] and I am certainly not pointing the finger, after all, I love it when people point me to great content, but the photocopier and the ‘sharing’ does point to questionable behaviour that has taken on the status of ‘modern culture’.

So… I have started on experiments for my next sculpture… it may never win prizes, but it is original stuff…

and no cats or boobs will be harmed in it’s promotion…

You can quote me on that.

:))

6 Comments

Filed under stuff

6 responses to “Quotes, pussy cats and social media fatigue

  1. I’m as wired as anyone, living on the internet for a long time. I love it for various reasons, the primary being that it is the world’s biggest library stacks…

    But it’s like this: I was motivated to get into computers to make artwork & music; the library-thing is a secondary strong force. I learned to build them and fix them mostly because at the time, you needed those skills to operate them. That knowledge consequently influenced my artwork.

    Anyone who works with computers in some way is familiar with the general public’s perception that if you “know computers” you should be able to fix their Outlook, email, Word Perfect, modem, internet, icons, tax program, etc. as well as know what every hardware or software problem they have is and how to fix it. It is akin to hearing someone is a musician [cellist] and expecting them to be able to play saxaphone, piano, drums, lead guitar, synthesizer, bass & know how to utilize all the devices found in a recording studio… and still master the cello. Nuts.

    There’s a new “social media thingie” happening almost every week now. Keeping up with them is exhausting. It’s a full-time job to make sure you’re on this or that service, that you “keep your numbers up” by frequent postings (and short ones – no one wants to read an actual article-length or thought-out piece anymore, it seems). Yes, we all love our internet, our computers… but we need to seriously talk about what we’re doing with them; how they contribute to the rest of our lives as tools. We have to shake the Marketeer’s and Monetizer’s attempts to force the form into something they are familiar with and can make money off, or we’ll never find out what is possible, different, unique and worth exploring.

    Paint brushes and assemblage materials have an intrinsic beauty in themselves, but it would be a mistake to be enamored of the tools and not their purpose or utilization in the service of what we want to get done.

    You and Scottius have been an inspiration to me to pick up brush and material again; to hold an object in my hand & struggle with a vision in a hard, unforgiving physical medium. I am enjoying once again the sight of ink-stained fingers and it is good :)

  2. Lovely and thoughtful comment, Miso, as usual. I am also suspicious that the bean counters are working on the basis that we all have the attention span of a goldfish and are structuring the world to fit that. Thank god for blogs, and IM/Twitter. Construction discourse is needed alongside the cute cats and banal quotes.

  3. Hi Soror,

    It’s hard to believe that Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, etc. have been around for less than a decade. Combined with the mobile computing, “social” media permeates just about every aspect of life these days. I think it’s going to take at least another ten years to figure out the impact on our lives (at which point it will be in retrospect because change continues to accelerate.) Nevertheless, I think it’s safe to say that there’s never been a time in history when a teething toddler named Charlie could have earned half a million dollars for his family. Is that a good thing or a bad thing? Good for his family obviously. But otherwise, I think only time will tell.

    I agree that sharing links to other’s works feels like an act of creativity for many people. Again, I don’t know if that social sharing inherently a positive or negative thing. Does the illusion of being liked when something we post is liked prevent people us doing things that would merit authentic self-esteem? Maybe. But I also think that there is a higher percentage of people sharing their own creativity than ever before. Although much of it is pretty crappy, the benefit of creativity for the person doing it doesn’t necessarily have any relation to the value of the work. Even if it’s on a boobs pressed up against a car level.

  4. I can zombify a doll, but can’t manage to edit my own blog comments. :)

  5. I not sure what sort of sculpture you do, but Cars + Models with paint on their boobs pressing up against the Car = Art!
    Kittens covered with paint, pressed up against a Car = Lawsuit.

  6. @botgirl, yes, I agree …any creativity is better than none… I guess…

    @shockwave Boobs pressed up against kittens = a painting that would sell…:))

Leave a Reply

