A Working Studio

I poured my first resin today in my garage/studio, an indication that I have finally ‘moved in’.

It’s not exactly as I want it, I need to build a longer bench and there are still bottles and tubes of goo that need unpacking and placing somewhere ergonomically available… but it’s good enough to start work.

As you can see there is good light, though maybe not in midwinter when it’ll probably be too cold for resin to set anyway.

I found my brain was getting to the state where it was re-running stupid, everyday nonsense like a scratched CD and I figured I had just too much unused Bio-RAM because I wasn’t creating.

Creating stuff, I am sure, is the only thing that really keeps me sane [-ish] and dealing with everyday crap is just boring and, somewhat, a waste of time if you allocate more than the minimum necessary brain power to it. I find myself getting annoyed with how much I’ve been “mugged” during this whole move and the negative side of life can just mushroom if not curtailed and buried in some beautiful blue resin, for example.

I have a couple of new paintings I want to do too, and an old one that needs serious work [it came out of the attic and I was sorely disappointed in a colour choice I had made before, so I can’t hang it in the house before remedial works are completed] … so, time to get cracking again.

I haven’t had such a nice space to work in for several years and so I’m looking forward to a new flush of activity.

:))

12 Comments

Filed under stuff

12 responses to “A Working Studio

  1. Wow Soror you have already made it your own space! I look forward to seeing what comes out of it :)

  2. Thanks Scottius, yes, me too.

  3. Congratulations on getting your space in order! Quite a transformation from the initial before shot you posted.

  4. soror nishi

    Yes, Thanks, it still has a few improvements I’d like to make, but it works.

  5. Congratulations on such a fine space. A good studio makes all the difference. I look forward to seeing your first piece from this new space. Good Luck!

  6. Maeve

    I find myself thinking how generous you are to share these glimpses of your space. Unpretentious. Soft (as in the Irish way “-) … Honestly, thank you.

  7. Thank you all so much for your interest…. until I did the posts on my RL sculpture I wouldn’t have thought so many people were interested but I guess we are all in the same boat; finding ways and means of creating some nice stuff. Fellow travelers.

  8. Wonderful. Getting that studio together is a great accomplishment, and by your own reaction, good for your soul.

    Maybe soon we will see some more Soror originals. Maybe you may even be willing to ship one or two :)

  9. Yep, I’ll ship as many as you like…:))

  10. I love the whole feel of the place. And creating does keep us sane, yanno.

  11. It is fun having a new space where you can begin creative work. Good luck on finding great inspiration.

  12. Thanks Harold… it’s certainly getting used..:))

Leave a Reply

