Let me be until I become.

I read the blog post by Phaylen Fairchild at the start of the year and it both amazed me and, on the other hand, didn’t.

She tells of her 10 years in Virtual Worlds and how the experience turned her from an introverted, frustrated artist …

“I had endured a lifelong battle with social anxiety and a crippling self esteem. I wrestled with depression, feelings of worthlessness, hopelessness.”

..into someone with the courage to venture into the film business, leaving Ohio for NYC and enrolling in film school.

Those of us who know her work will not be that surprised…

Those of us who know the therapeutic effects of virtual existence will not be that surprised either, I can think of a good number of people who will readily say that they have been helped and inspired by the breathing space offered by assuming a different identity to that we were bred and brainwashed into by ‘real’ life.

I have written before of the intimidating pressure that current culture imposes on those of us that either don’t look like supermodels, or don’t behave like social masters (not to mention those who cannot move about the globe as easily as most).

The space that VW’s give is one of Time and, like in adolescence, the ability to try different personas to see which fit.

As Phaylen puts it ..”Second Life became more than what I ever intended it to be. It became a Second Chance.”

It is likely that the ability to interact with 3D worlds will change and improve, goggles, holograms, 3d printers and scanners may well become far more common than we now imagine.

But this interaction, without social and cultural burdens, is surely one of the most amazing facets of VWs and one reason I am such an avid proponent of this medium.

The ability to meet mind to mind and soul to soul in real time is truly a great gift.

oh, and, by the way LL, it doesn’t need simplifying, just some more customer service.

:))

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Let me be until I become.

  1. Wizzy

    Secondlife and Inworldz have served as much-needed therapy for me and have allowed me to have the courage to pursue my life-long dream of being a full-time artist in RL.

  2. Yep, I think all my closest friends can say the same

  3. And love the vid! I’m still grinning!

Leave a Reply

