Glass, a start

One of the interesting things about all design processes is the number of consequent decisions that you have to make before you set pen to paper [metaphorically speaking].

The decisions don’t need to be consequent if you are just gonna play around, and that is certainly one strategy, but if the materials are expensive, that can be costly and reaching a satisfying conclusion is a hit-and-miss affair [well, most design projects are to a certain extent].

So…I have been doing lots of reading, watching videos and ‘window shopping’ for kilns and glass and tools…etc etc.

As the total cost of setting up a glass workshop is huge I obviously have to buy a bit at a time …. and it got me thinking about ancient Egypt. In ancient Egypt the tools were relatively simple, and I have always made jewellery with simple hand tools, shunning machines as I like quiet in my workshop…..

…so… is all this lusting after expensive kilns and stuff a bit of a red herring. Could I make glass stuff with simple tools?

Only one way to find out…

My ‘kiln’….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…and my first bit of smelted glass, made from shards of broken mosaic tile.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well…. then, having been thinking about jewellery…

I had a piece of 18 carat gold from a failed ring…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…and a bit of silver…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

so…I went for it….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I thought that it might be a way to start my glass purchases ..by selling this piece on eBay and using the profits to buy some high quality glass [you have to use good glass or it’ll come back to booby-trap you later …. according to what I have read].

So… if anyone wants a piece of jewellery … it’s on eBay to sell next Sunday.

English law forbids anyone to sell unhallmarked silver and gold as silver and gold, so don’t read this post if you are English….

:))

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Glass, a start

  1. SaveMe Oh

    How much Linden?

  2. :))
    Thanks all..

    …. make me an offer, SaveMe

  3. Caro

    It was really that easy?? Omgosh… :))

  4. Nice Job Soror,, been awhile since we had coffee,, drop by some time hun,,

    Da Badgah

  5. Very cool, Soror! You make it all looks so easy. :)

Leave a Reply

