one down, one to go…

…not quite true because it’s still a long way from finished, but the pieces are all glued together on the first chair and I’ve slapped on an undercoat of varnish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I decided to get this one done so I could store it in the house as there isn’t enough room to work on two chairs in the garage.

So, the overall result is quite good and if the second one glues up as well as this I’ll be quite happy. There are some very good joints and some mediocre ones too with a small proportion (luckily hidden) which are a bit poor. The whole thing, despite the twisting and turning of the planks as they were drying, is pretty square and, I think strong enough to stand up to everyday use.

I have to say that, like a lot of things, I wasn’t sure that I could pull it off and, like a lot of things….you never know til you try.

All in all, quite pleased with the result.

:))

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

