The chairs, finished

Ok, so, finally… [I started in November] … I have finished my chairs, with a little upholstery help from my eldest daughter at Krumnaalen Upholstery in Silkeborg, Denmark.

So … a few photos
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now, the trickiest joint I used was this interlocking tenon … I was way outside my comfort zone, but it worked out…

interlocking tenons

I hate traditional wood filler, so where needed I made my own from resin and glitter … I think it works well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

..and this is the pair in place with the footstools, [the carpet is not my choice, it came with the rental]…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…and very comfy they are too, especially compared with the last pair of cheap crap I have been using…

:))

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “The chairs, finished

  1. Super cool and beautiful! All this from a chunk of tree… loved the fancy joining… you’ll have to find more trees to work on!

  2. Goose Wycliffe

    so are you taking orders now…… ???

  3. Congrats! A great project. Beautiful spalting. Love the glitter filler. Reminds me of kintsugi. (google it). Fanciest joint I ever made was a fox-wedge tenon. Good for chair spindles.

    • Thanks FreeWee
      ahh… yes, I didn’t know the name [kintsugi] but I did fill the worm holes with gold laquer.
      This wood was a bit too brittle for fox-wedging, but I did consider it.

  4. alizaringoldflake

    I love the glitter and gold wormholes – so you!

Leave a Reply

