The Oak Stool

Well, I’ve finished my stool … maybe another top coat of varnish still to do on the seat if I’m feeling like I can improve on the finish.

The seat is Tiger Oak, which is simply oak with a bit of spalting in the grain .. close up it looks almost like small lines of cork and the markings have quite a rust red colouring.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The legs I’ve made from oak showing the heart wood (dark) and semi decayed outer wood to get the contrast.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The gold paint is Winsor & Newton Liquid Leaf with ‘Treasure Sealer’ varnish to keep the shine [ordinary varnish makes the gold quite dull]. … and I just used an emulsion paint for the turquoise with some ink to colour it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I started in May, it’s been 5 months, minus a 3 week shelving project, so, about 16 week ends … a good sort of length of time, and a little easier than the armchairs. I wasn’t quite so fussy with it as I thought of it more as a ‘rustic’ look rather than fine carpentry.

It’s been fun and I’m happy with how it turned out.

The result is that I am more convinced than ever that I have to find more ‘quirky’ wood … there’s no point spending time on a boring bit of lumber.

….and… I’m going to upgrade my workshop. Starting next week I’m refurbishing the garage to give me more space and I’m going to make a table saw when I’m finished that…

I have a list of stuff I want to make now … I’ve got the bug.

:))

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Oak Stool

  1. Miso Susanowa

    Waow! JUST GORGEOUS!! Great that you “have the bug” again! I’d love to see a “set” photo of the chairs with the stool!

Leave a Reply

