Making a branding iron

I wanted to be able to ‘sign’ my future pieces with my new logo…

I started off with the following, a scaled image of the log, some Copper Art Clay, two pieces of hard wax and a good scalpel.
There are instructions on Youtube if you want to make copper clay rather than buy it…. I bought some ($17)..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I wrapped the image around the wax

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Carved the image into the wax ( I gave up on the very small image, my eyes couldn’t do it)…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pressed the clay into the wax and carved it out deeper when it was a little drier (it was very sticky)…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Left the clay to dry

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fired it with my torch in the BBQ

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and… with a bit of practice it looks like it should do fine…

:)

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Making a branding iron

  1. alizaringoldflake

    Very clever. What does the character mean?

  2. It’s the first hexagram in the I Ching and means “creative power” or ” the power of the creative’ …

Leave a Reply

