Posh bird table in oak

It’s been ages since I posted anything about my workshop projects apart from a few photos of my wild plum slabs which are currently drying and warping and splitting at this moment in time. Not unsurprising when you try to dry something too fast…. should create an interesting set of problems later in the year….

I have finished the first of a number of smaller projects which are ‘on the bench’ at the moment, namely my posh bird table.

I’ve cobbled this together with bits of reclaimed oak along with a few newer pieces, using slate for the roof.

I’ve managed to use pegs rather than screws, mostly, as I’m pretty sure that the weather and bird poo will subject it to quite a bit of stress …[if bird tables ever get stressed]. Which is why I chose solid oak rather than anything fancy.

The pole it sits on is just a cherry laurel post I had hanging around and will obviously rot but the peg connecting the two pieces is Australian Ironwood which is, not surprisingly, hard as iron. It should be a simple process to replace the pole when it’s time is up.

I’m also working on another Tiger Oak box with an oriental ‘style’ which should be appearing on these pages soon … and one or two other bits and bobs.

Anyway … back to work..

XX soror

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Posh bird table in oak

  1. Wizzy

    This looks like it’s for the birds.

Leave a Reply

