Tallboy, in oak.

It’s a while since I blogged, I’ve been busy this year cutting up large pieces of wood into smaller pieces. It’s a hobby.

I’ve stretched myself this project and am making a tallboy. It has almost 100 pieces of wood and some carving and some inlay work, so it’s going to be a real ‘grown-up’ piece of carpentry.

Some photos….

Firstly, around Christmas I borrowed an electric motor saw to cut my lumps of oak into slabs…

slabs

Then I spent the next month cutting these into usable pieces

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I did some old school ‘data transfer’…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is what I plan on making..

chest 4 blank coloured

So, I started gluing it up..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And now I have to start on the drawers. You’ll notice that I haven’t drawn any handles on my sketch, that’s purely because I can’t decide which ones to make.

They’ll be in metal … and I’m going to make them… but … I can’t choose between lizard shaped and plain round forged ones….

I’ll post more photos when I know more myself…

:))

Time will tell…

Soror

XXX

4 Comments

Filed under stuff

4 responses to “Tallboy, in oak.

  1. Miso Susanowa

    Beautiful work on the carving! Can’t wait to see the rest of the work.

  2. Amaranthim Talon

    Soror! I googled you and found you- had mentioned on FB I was thinking of you lately and hoped you were well. Glad all is good- the new project looks wonderful.

  3. Thanks Amaranthim, I’m not on FB anymore as you know, but I am well thanks.

Leave a Reply

