That ol’ chestnut

I have just finished my latest project, a box from a very old chestnut tree which fell on one of my clients properties.

chestnut box

I made the hinges myself out of some sheet brass I bought online. The box itself is quite wonky so I didn’t want to use machine-made hinges. The hinges are riveted onto holly which is a denser wood than the chestnut.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The banded woods are holly (light) and mahogany (I think …. it’s reused from an old wardrobe door).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My next project is on the bench already. I have some silver birch which was cut a couple of years ago which I’m planning on making into another small table with inlays.

OLYMPUS 
DIGITAL CAMERA

It’ll be a long time till that’s finished, but I have some smaller projects on the go that I’ll show when they’re done.

Hugs

Soror
XXX

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized, woodwork

Leave a comment